Download pulse

Best practices

How to restructure your sitemap.

If you would like to restructure your sitemap, the best way to do so is to move your sitemap nodes with the drag and drop function. As this way the sitemap node keeps it’s ID, links relating to that node, e.g. from or to other content of your website or your user’s bookmarks, will still be fully functional. If you delete your sitemap nodes and create them anew in another place the node’s id will be changed and links to the same content would not be working anymore.

How to change the content of your sitemap.

The best way to change the content of one of your sitemap nodes is to remove the old content and link the new content to the sitemap node. As this keeps the node’s ID the same bookmarks and other links will still be fully functional. If you delete your sitemap node and create a new one, even at the same place, the node’s id will be changed and links to the same content would not be working anymore.

How to turn parts of your website temporarily invisible.

If you would like to turn parts of your website temporarily invisible, this is best done by assigning a role to the sitemap node (and if necessary to its children) to control who is able to access the sitemap node. Turning their state from visible to invisible by using the toggle visibility button will prevent those nodes from being accessed via the sitemap, but by using the sitemap’s internal search or a direct link to the content it will still be accessible.