Download pulse

Roles

If you would like to create, edit or delete a role, select the ‘roles overview’ from the ‘users and rights’ palette to open the roles overview tab (Fig.1).

roles overview tab
Fig.1

As with nearly all of the overview tabs, the roles overview tab can be divided into 3 sections:

  • The head (Fig.1, 1) containing the create button and the search mask.
  • The viewport (Fig.1, 2) containing the edit role button, the delete role button and the roles list.
  • The footer (Fig.1, 3) containing the paging buttons and the refresh button. Here you also can set how many results shall be displayed per page.

Creating a new role

To create a new role use the create button to open the 'create role' input mask (Fig.2).

new role input mask
Fig.2

When you have named your role, use the create button to finish creating the new role.

Deleting a role

To delete an existing role use the ‘delete’ button delete icon next to a roles name to delete the role.

Note: Deleted roles cannot be restored. Use this function carefully.

Editing a role

To edit an existing role, use the ‘edit role’ button on the right side of the role you would like to edit to open the ‘edit role’ tab.

edit role tab
Fig.3

The edit role tab has 4 components:

  • The head (Fig.3, 1) containing the roles name and description edit fields and the save button.
  • The users section (Fig.3,2 ) where users can be added to the role.
  • The groups section (Fig.3, 3) where permission groups can be added to the role.
  • The permissions section (Fig.3, 4) where single permissions can be added to the role.

Editing a role’s name and its description

Editing a role’s name or its description is quite simple: select the name field or the description field. Enter a name or the description. After you have finished filling in the description or the name, use the save button to save your changes.

Assigning or removing users from the role

See: assigning and removing users.

Assigning or removing groups to/from a role

See: assigning and removing groups.

Assigning or removing permissions to/from a role

See: assigning and removing permissions.