Download pulse

The main sitemap-node features

Style

The style assigned to a sitemap node determines which basic layout is used for the display of the content that is linked to that node. That can range from a change in background-colours up to a completely different page-layout. The style chosen determines which CSS will be used for that particular page.

Changing a sitemap node’s style

To change a sitemap node’s style, use the 'edit' button next to the sitemap node you would like to change the style of. The tab to edit the sitemap node’s attributes will open immediately after clicking the edit button. Expand the “Theme selection - Style” section by using the expand button expand icon.

sitemap edit style section
Fig.1

Use the browse all styles button (Fig.1, 1) to select a style. By clicking on the small thumbnail image of the style it will be selected and active. Confirm your selected style by using the save button in the tab’s toolbar.

Theme

Themes are used for fix elements that appear on each page of your site. That could be e.g. a variety of different headers for your page or it could be flash-movies, background-pictures and so on.

Changing a sitemap node’s theme

To change a sitemap node’s theme, use the 'edit' button next to the sitemap node you would like to change the theme of. The tab to edit the sitemap node’s attributes will open immediately after clicking the edit button. Expand the “Theme selection – Theme” section by using the expand button expand icon.

sitemap edit theme section
Fig.2

Use the assign button (Fig.2, 1) to open the theme browser. By clicking on the small thumbnail image of a theme it will be selected and assigned to the node. If there are predefined theme groups, you can also assign one of them to the node. When you assign a theme group to a node, every time this node is loaded the theme will switch randomly to one of those of the theme group. Confirm your selected theme by using the save button in the tab’s toolbar.

Section Tag

Section tags are a multi-purpose grouping tool for nodes. Their functions depend on if and how they are implemented. They can be used e.g. for an additional styling element that shall be displayed on all pages marked with that tag or exclude marked pages from the search function or display them only if certain prerequisites are met and so on. For easier understanding you might see them as some kind of flag for that page.

Assigning a sitemap section tag

To assign a new sitemap section tag, expand the “Sitemap: edit section tag” section by using the expand button expand icon.

sitemap edit section tag
Fig.3

To create a new sitemap tag use the create button (Fig.3, 1). After clicking the create button a popup window will open. Enter a name for the sitemap section tag and confirm it by clicking the “Ok” button. Assign the newly created section tag by selecting it via the radio button next to its name. Confirm the action by using the save button in the tab’s toolbar. If you would like to assign the section tag to all of the child nodes of the sitemap node select the checkbox “Apply to child sitemap-nodes” and confirm the action by using the save button in the tab’s toolbar again. For editing the name of a section tag use the edit button next to it, for deleting a section tag use the delete button next to it. To end the assignment of a section tag to a node, just click on the ‘remove selection tag’ button (Fig.3, 2).

Note: Once created, a section tag is available on all nodes in your sitemap.

Display duration

This feature is used to control the visibility of a node over time. Here you can set a start-date for the visibility as well as an end-date. This can be useful if you would like to display content for a specific period of time e.g. special seasonal offers.

Assigning a display duration to a sitemap node

Each sitemap node can have its own display duration. To assign a display duration to a node, expand the “Sitemap: edit display duration” section by using the expand button expand icon.

sitemap edit display duration
Fig.4

This section is divided into two: the start date on the left hand side and the end date on the right hand side. First set the start day by selecting it from the calendar (Fig.4, 1) on the left hand side. Afterwards select the time-zone (Fig.4, 2) in which the node will be displayed. The last step is setting the start time (Fig.4, 3) of the display duration. Setting the end date and time (Fig.4, 4) works exactly the same way on the right hand side. To apply the settings use the save button in the tab’s toolbar.

Note: When the display duration of a sitemap node ends, all of its child nodes are also removed from view.

Roles

The roles are one of the main user-administration tools. But in this context they are used for one purpose only: to give you the possibility to make certain nodes visible only to individual users or user groups that have the corresponding role assigned to them (more on the topic of roles, see: Roles ).  

Applying roles to a sitemap node

Like assigning section tags, roles can also be used to allow access to a sitemap node and/or its child nodes to a special group of users. This works quite similar to assigning roles to a user. Expand the roles section by using the expand button expand icon.

sitemap edit roles
Fig.5

Afterwards a dropdown will open which shows the assigned roles on the left side (Fig.5, 1) and the available roles (Fig.5, 2) on the right side. You can assign roles to a sitemap by:

  • Dragging and dropping from field two into field one
  • Double clicking on the role name

If you would like to apply the selected role(s) to the entire sitemap node’s children select the checkbox “Apply to child sitemap-nodes”. Confirm your action by using the save button in the tab’s toolbar. Removing roles from a node works the same way just in the other direction (drag the role from field one into field two or just double-click on it in field one).

Note: If you assign multiple roles to a sitemap node, users have to own only one of these roles to gain access to this sitemap node.

Restructuring your sitemap and changing contents of your sitemap

If you would like to restructure your sitemap, we recommend doing this by moving your sitemap nodes and not by deleting them. As the former keeps links like bookmarks still fully functional even though you have restructured your sitemap. If you would like to change contents of your sitemap nodes, we recommend using the remove content button and assigning the new content to the same node. This will also keep the full functionality of links from other websites or bookmarks.