Download pulse

Basic functions of the sitemap palette

sitemap overview image
Fig.1

The whole website is divided into so-called locales, which are a combination of countries and languages.

The locale you wish to edit can be selected at the top of the sitemap palette (Fig.1, 1). By clicking on the green arrow button on the right side of the locale’s name you switch to the selected sitemap locale.

The currently selected locale is shown on top of the sitemap (Fig.1, 2). The sitemap itself is the tree-like table of contents of your website.

Each entry in the sitemap corresponds to an entry in the website’s menu. These entries are called nodes (SitemapNode). The root node of the sitemap is the home page. To learn more about tree-like data structures and the common terminology you can refer to the excellent explanation at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tree_data_structure.

 
icon visibility  Change visibility Toggles the visibility state of the sitemap node between visible and invisible
icon edit view  Edit view settings Opens a new tab with editing options for the sitemap node’s view
icon delete node Delete sitemap node Deletes the sitemap node
icon new node Create new sitemap node Creates a new sitemap node as the last child of the current node
icon remove content Remove content from sitemap node Removes the current content from the sitemap node

Creating a new sitemap node

Creating a new sitemap node will produce a new child node named “NEW”. After creating the sitemap node, you can rename it and add content to the node by clicking the edit button.

Changing the visibility of a sitemap node

The current visibility of a sitemap node is symbolized by the eye-icon. Invisible nodes are marked by a grey icon, whereas visible nodes have a coloured icon. If a sitemap node is invisible, it is not shown in the site’s menu and it cannot be viewed by the users of the website. Invisible sitemap nodes are useful, if you are preparing new parts of the sitemap which are not finished yet or to temporarily remove certain parts of the website which you want to include again later.

Removing the content from a sitemap node

If you remove the content from a sitemap node, the node will be completely empty afterwards. It will also lose all themeing and styling information.
Note: This will end only the linking between node and content. The content still remains in the content registry and needs to be deleted separately. 

Changing the name of a sitemap node

The name of the sitemap node is the node's display name in the website’s menu. To change the name of a node, you have to first select it by clicking on the name of the node. If you then click on the name again, an input field will open allowing you to edit the node’s name. This works much like renaming files in Microsoft Windows™.

Rearranging sitemap nodes

The moving of sitemap nodes is very easy. Simply drag the node to its new position in the sitemap. This will move the selected node and all its children to the new position. All links and bookmarks will continue to work.

Deleting a sitemap node

If you delete a sitemap node, the selected node and all its children will be deleted. This operation cannot be undone, so please be careful. If you want to exchange the contents of a sitemap node, consider removing the content instead of deleting the node, since this will keep all existing links and bookmarks intact.

 

A full description of the sitemap and its function can be found in the chapter “The sitemap”.